To access all our features please use the Goodpods app.

Open the app

headphones

Book Talk Podcast – Better Living Institute

Book Talk Podcast – Better Living Institute

Welcome to the Book Talk Podcast. In a fun and entertaining style, Kira and Bill Van Ittersum share insights, highlights, and comments on their favorite books. These carefully crafted book discussions provide you with uplifting ideas, including great tools and techniques that can help you to begin building a life that is filled with your own heartfelt desires. Tune in today!
 ...more

All episodes

Best episodes

Top 10 Book Talk Podcast – Better Living Institute Episodes

Best episodes ranked by Goodpods Users most listened

Have you ever wondered what you were truly meant to do in life? Have you ever felt that you have a higher calling? Have you ever dreamed of doing something different? Let career intuitive Sue Frederick show you the way.

In this first-ever book to combine ancient mystical teachings with current career knowledge, Sue reveals how to read destiny clues (the way she reads them for clients) and create a practical plan for moving forward. She illuminates the negative patterns stopping you in your tracks and teaches you to remove them. You walk away with a fresh perspective on your life’s direction, and a realization of how powerful you truly are.

Listen in as Kira and Bill Van Ittersum discuss this book and give tips of their own about finding the work that will make you laugh and sing!

bookmark
share episode

Leo Buscaglia, Ph.D. and New York Times bestselling author was the “Love Doctor” of the 1980’s. He was featured many times on PBS specials with his books, which is how many Americans came to know and love him. His heartfelt storytelling style and his “love-expressed” way of being helped make him a success—at one time in the 80’s, he had five of his books on the New York Times bestselling list at the same time!

Although Leo died in 1998 at the age of 74, his message lives on today to guide us, nudge us, and challenge us to become more loving and understanding to each other. Listen in as Kira and Bill Van Ittersum share their thoughts, stories, and experiences about one of Leo Buscaglia’s most challenging books: Loving Each Other.

bookmark
share episode

John Gray promises that miracles are not just part of the distant past but are here, now—surrounding us every minute of every day. What many of us have lost, however, is the ability to recognize them, and more, to create them at will for ourselves and others.

He says that anyone can learn to create practical miracles by following nine principles that will awaken your inner power and then guide you to change your inner awareness so that your newly created miracles will “stick”.

Kira and Bill Van Ittersum discuss the nine principles and the possibilities that they suggest. Join in to hear for yourself whether this plan will work in your life, too!

bookmark
share episode

The Abundance Book is a little book with a big promise—spend forty days with the Prosperity Plan and watch your life be transformed by the end of the forty days. John Randolph Price has written widely on metaphysics and has helped re-define God as the sole source of our prosperity. God is defined as providing without measure. God is the force of natural law, the all-intelligent force in the universe.

When a neophyte begins the work of manifestation, Price points out that God works through people and material events to provide your supply. However, you should not confuse these material effects with God, the Source of Supply. Price suggests that you allow God to work with you and through you and others to bring your abundance and prosperity. The 40-day Prosperity Plan teaches you to incorporate these principles into your daily life.

bookmark
share episode

Dr. Bruce Wilkinson introduces readers to the New Testament, 1st Chronicles 4:9-10 to discover how Jabez, one of the most overlooked persons in the Bible, says a short prayer that brings him an extraordinary measure of divine favor, anointing, and protection. Dr. Wilkinson suggests that people who pray the same prayer also can release God’s miraculous power—and experience the blessings that God longs to give to each of us.

Kira and Bill Van Ittersum share their personal experiences with the inner power and New Thought ideas about “asking and receiving” while relating Dr. Wilkinson’s personal experiences as well. They suggest how listeners can make this little prayer their own and receive, in Bruce Wilkinson’s words, “. . . supernatural and extraordinary blessings from God” everyday!

bookmark
share episode

Nearly every time you see him, he’s laughing, or at least smiling. And he makes everyone else around him feel like smiling. He’s the Dalai Lama, the spiritual and temporal leader of Tibet, a Nobel Prize winner, and a hugely sought-after speaker and statesman. Why is he so popular? Even after spending only a few minutes in his presence you can’t help feeling happier.

If you ask him if he’s happy, even though he’s suffered the loss of his country, the Dalai Lama will give you an unconditional yes. What’s more, he’ll tell you that happiness is the purpose of life, and that the very motion of our life is toward happiness. How to get there has always been the question. He’s tried to answer it before, but he’s never had the help of a psychiatrist to get the message across in a context we can easily understand.

The Art of Happiness is the book that started the genre of happiness books, and it remains the cornerstone of the field of positive psychology.

Through conversations, stories, and meditations, the Dalai Lama shows us how to defeat day-to-day anxiety, insecurity, anger, and discouragement. Together with Dr. Howard Cutler, he explores many facets of everyday life, including relationships, loss, and the pursuit of wealth, to illustrate how to ride through life’s obstacles on a deep and abiding source of inner peace. Based on 2,500 years of Buddhist meditations mixed with a healthy dose of common sense, The Art of Happiness is a book that crosses the boundaries of traditions to help readers with difficulties common to all human beings. After being in print for ten years, this book has touched countless lives and uplifted spirits around the world.

—Amazon.com

bookmark
share episode

James Allen got the name for his book from the Bible, Proverbs 23:7: “As a man Thinketh in his heart, so is he.” His book is a 112 year old classic in the tradition of Ralph Waldo Emerson and Henry David Thoreau.

Listen in as Kira and Bill Van Ittersum discuss James Allen’s work, tell a little of his history, and explain how this train of thought compares with today’s fascination with the Law of Attraction.

Bill and Kira agree with some of Mr. Allen’s conclusions and quite strongly disagree with some of his others. They invite you to examine this book and engage in your own inner reflection. It’s a great book for discussion!

bookmark
share episode

Griffin and Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence, is a charming picture book for grown-ups that is told through a series of removable letters and postcards between the two main characters, Griffin Moss and Sabine Strohem. It is Part 1 of a trilogy by writer/illustrator, Nick Bantock.

The letters Bantock began writing—and lavishly illustrating—detail the mysterious relationship between these two lonely artists who live on opposite sides of the globe.

Kira and Bill Van Ittersum discuss this trilogy and the highly unusual correspondence between Griffin and Sabine, which includes the unfolding of their uniquely tantalizing love story. At the heart of this podcast are the soul-provoking realizations and personal disclosures—that our moderators feel compelled to make—regarding pieces of their own love story. This is delicious stuff!

bookmark
share episode

All of us want the comfort of wealth in our lives. In this podcast Kira and Bill Van Ittersum talk about natural ways of connecting to the unseen power within each of us; an abiding Presence that when tapped into, can provide a continuous flow of unlimited wealth.

Through the understanding and framework of a few simple instructions, Kira and Bill talk about Deepak’s vision of wealth and its attainment. What are the universal laws that govern wealth? Are they real? And do they really work? You can tune in to the stream of consciousness on this podcast, and begin your very own investigation. Deepak Chopra is truly a master at turning ideas—which may at first seem complex—into simple concepts clear-as-day. Pure entertainment!

bookmark
share episode

Creating Affluence: The A-to-Z Steps to a Richer Life

In this remarkable book lies the secret to creating affluence. Here you will discover that you are the dancer and the dance, the creator and the creation, and unlimited wealth is yours merely for the asking. With clear and simple wisdom, Deepak Chopra explores the full meaning of wealth consciousness and presents a step-by-step plan for creating affluence and fulfillment on all levels of our lives.

According to Dr. Chopra, affluence is our natural state, and the entire physical universe with all its abundance is the offspring of an unbounded, limitless field of all possibilities. Through a series of simple steps and everyday actions, Creating Affluence gently fosters the wealth consciousness needed to tap into this field and create anything you desire.

This book is so simple and straightforward that it almost seems too easy. Deepak Chopra has mentioned that if you read just five short pages (steps) a day, in time your life will change, and you will begin to spontaneously have the affluence that you so desire in every area of your life with ease and grace.

Kira and Bill Van Ittersum hit upon what they feel to be their favorite highlights, confessing that they cannot and do not intend to cover every topic that the author has written about. Rather they have chosen a few that have worked well for them. This podcast is full of information, and we promise you won’t be bored. Warning: By the end of this one, you’re going to want to own this book!

bookmark
share episode